Memorising Tunes

1. Posterboy
    Posterboy
    Honestly I have found it easier to memorise, both in my head and hands, Bach's Cello Suite 1 Prelude than I'm finding memorising most beginner/intermediate fiddle and bluegrass tunes. They're like tongue twisters for the fingers, the lines and runs are so similar with slight variations, my fingers get confused so easily.

I know the answer is to take it nice and slow without mistakes and then speed it up, but....
  2. MikeZito
    MikeZito
    My old boss used to tell me: "Zito, you would forget your butt if it wasn't glued on you!"

Needless to say, I am not good at 'memorizing' ANYTHING - but I have found that there are certain songs/songwriters who write and construct chord structures in much the way that my natural musical thought process goes - so it is far easier for me to remember those songs, than others that fall outside of my particular 'style'. I can generally do pretty well at remembering cover songs, IF I play them very regularly - but if I fall away from them for too long, I would need to learn them, from scratch, all over again.
  3. HonketyHank
    HonketyHank
    I have a terrible time memorizing tunes. I am hoping that will improve as I develop a better "ear". I think I have seen some improvement in that regard over the last year or so. Learning tunes in "chunks" certainly helps.
  4. Spragster
    Spragster
    im to the point i cant even remember all the things ive forgotten. If i dont play a tune every two or 3 days i forget half of it at least till i run through it a time or 2. hardest part is rememberin which ones im about to forget half of and playing them so i dont!
  5. Trav'linmando
    Trav'linmando
    Lol.
    I'm with you fellers.
    A line from 'Oh Brother, Where Art Thou'

I have to complicate it by learning different versions of the same tune.
  6. Louise NM
    Louise NM