Invited to a blues jam

1. Liadan
    Liadan
    Long story short, I just got invited to a blues jam! I explained to them that I was a beginner, and they said they're still happy to have me. I've never been to any kind of jam session - advice? The guy who runs the group also recommended I listen to some blues mandolin, or pre-War blues. I'm really nervous but also excited!
  2. Mark Gunter
    Mark Gunter
    Oh man, I wish there were a blues jam like that around here instead of bluegrass.

"Pre-war" blues. This is the greatest, it took a long time in my musical journey, but finally, a couple decades ago, I landed on the old acoustic blues. That is a roots music that had profound effect on early country (Jimmy Rodgers, Carter Family), bluegrass (Arnold Scultz > Bill Monroe), and rock and roll.

These were Black artists who began recording sometime between the 1st & 2nd WW (beginning around 1914, "Memphis Blues").

As you get into the 30's, there is so much music to absorb, because the mine is very rich indeed. Fortunately, the vast majority of tunes follow an easily assimilated pattern. Listen to Robert Johnson's tunes.

In my own library, I have pretty complete works of:

Blind Willie McTell*
    Elmore James
    Bo Carter*
    John Lee Hooker
    Blind Lemon Jefferson*
    J. B. Lenoir
    Lead Belly*
    Lightnin' Hopkins
    Muddy Waters
    Robert Johnson*

... and a few others. The ones above with asterisk recorded a great deal in pre-war times, acoustic blues. The others began playing in those times but were recorded after the war, and many went electric by then (Muddy Waters was first recorded in 1941).

This list of "complete works" artists that I have in my library doesn't begin to scratch the surface of what's out here though.

You can listen to some of these works at my website. Examples:

Brief article on Bo Carter with link to 112 tune playlist from Bo Carter: http://www.markgunter.net/cool_stuff...smen-bo-carter