Beginner

1. Beemer
    Beemer
    Hi I'm a total beginner.
    I bought my mandola 6 weeks ago and I am learning with tabs cause I can't read music yet.
    So this group might be helpful for me.
    I hope that I'll be able to contribute as well.
    Oh, btw, I live in Sydney, Australia.
    Cheers for now.
  2. Explorer
    Explorer
    Welcome, Beemer! Hopefully you'll find something helpful to you!

You know, I'm planning on looking through some of the tenor banjo methods available free online, with an eye towards posting about them here in the group if they're useful. Tenor banjo is tuned CGDA, identically to mandola, so the older out-of-copyright books would be a way to learn to mandola without any monetary outlay.

Cheers!
  3. Beemer
    Beemer
    Hi Explorer,
    I thought I should stick to the Mandola forum for most of my activities as follows:

"Beemer, have you tried fretting it? Give it a shot, and see which one works more easily, and which works *less* easily.

Looking purely at the upper three courses, there's the 4-5-5, which would be easily fretted with one finger on the 4, and a single-finger barre on the remaining 5-5. In fact, one of the movable chord forms, for G as an example, can be formed as 2-4-5-5.

Using the middle finger for the 4 and the index on 5 as you propose requires the middle finger either wrapping above or below the index fnger used on that 5. To me, that seems pretty twisty and unnecessary.

That being said, my personal chord book consists of what I came up with as easily applied with *my* own hands. This was after I found that available books had chord forms which didn't fit my particular needs. The great thing is, you can also make decisions based on what works specifically for you."

I tried it and it works fine, thanks.
    Thanks for the help.
  4. Beemer
    Beemer
    I'm pasting this here for my future reference:
    "Hi Beemer, and welcome!