Hello

1. bolzano
    bolzano
    I just registered. I started playing the mandolin very recently (about two weeks before covid!). I am currently playing on a 50$ Rogue mandolin but I think I am going to upgrade to Elderly instruments' "beginner" setup. I heard it was good from mandolessons.com

Do you know of any other "entry" level setups in the 400$ - 500$ range (or forum posts where this is discussed)? I would be interested.

I am also curious if there are "meetups" where people who are newbies like myself can pick up a thing or two from people who have been playing for awhile. Do you know of any in the Willamette Valley area?
  2. tangleweeds
    tangleweeds
    Idle curiosity here: Could you please post a link to the Elderly setup?

I've got a very nice Eastman, but I still enjoy my Rogue too. I've used it for learning setup, using Rob Meldrum's ebook. A huge upgrade was swapping out the annoying tuners it came with for an inexpensive set of Golden Gate tuners from Amazon. That required re-drilling the holes on the headstock, but that wasn't hard, even though I'm a woman with minimal woodshop experience (I'm old enough they still had electives at school, but also old enough that they sent us girls to sewing while only the boys got woodshop), but at least I can manage a drill.

I just received a new bridge for it (also an inexpensive Golden Gate), but since I've just restrung it that's going to wait until its new cheap but solid-cast tailpiece ships from China, and I can put that on at the same time.