Any other newbies focusing on Irish music?

1. Ed McGarrigle
    Ed McGarrigle
    I’m a long-term beginner. I was taking lessons many years ago but never got past the beginner stage when I had a hand injury and gave-up. With the pandemic I decided to pick it up again using the Online Academy of Irish Music (oaime .ie) lessons by Paddy Cummins . Still, a slow learner but have gotten Molly Malone, The Kerry Polka, The Foggy Dew, Britches Full of Stitches, the Ballydesmond Polka under my fingers fairly well and working on my first jig the Lilting Banshee. I really like that these lessons are very easy to listen to a phrase repeatedly. The melodies in Irish music seem to follow in a more intuitive sense to me, so it seems (somewhat) easier to find the right note when I’m trying to Commit a tune to memory. Probably helps that they are short tunes, too!
    Aidan Crossey’s The Irish Mandolin has been a great source of inspiration and Education too.
    So, just introducing myself as a new “newbie” And wondering what others experience learning Irish tunes on the mandolin has been like?

Ed McG
  2. HonketyHank
    HonketyHank
    I have very much enjoyed learning Irish fiddle tunes. I thought I had practically no familiarity with that genre when I started with the mandolin five years ago, but I quickly learned how important they are to what we call bluegrass or old time here in the US. My favorite source and reference is thesession.org . And Baron Collins-Hill has a fair number of Irish and Irish derived lessons on his site, mandolessons.com . I haven't tried any polkas but I have happily jumped into the world of jigs, hop jigs, double jigs, slip jigs, slides, reels, and hornpipes, with a three-two or two thrown in as well.

O'Neill's books are invaluable for tunes that existed a hundred years ago and are still available in facsimile editions.