Mandolessons or Sharon Gilchrist on Peghead Nation

1. Michael Kinch
    Michael Kinch
    As a newbie I am trying to decide whether to go with Mandolessons or with the beginner lessons by Sharon Gilchrist on Peghead Nation. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!
  2. Mark Gunter
    Mark Gunter
    Your financial status would help determine this. If you can afford lessons where you can elicit feedback from a teacher, it may be wise to go that route. Otherwise, self-teaching with the help of mandolessons or other lessons (Brad Laird, Homespun videos, Banjo Ben, YouTube searches, etc.) which are either free, donation-oriented, or require a small, one-time fee make learning accessible to anyone.

My advice would be to get lessons from a reputable teacher who offers feedback, one-on-one if possible, or through skype or video exchange if that's the best you can do. If that is not affordable, there are many other resources but sans personal feedback.
  3. FredK
    FredK
    +1 on Mark's suggestions. There's also ArtistWorks which is fee based. Classical would be with Caterina Lichtenberg and Bluegrass with Mike Marshall. With a full 1 year subscription, you can submit videos and receive feedback as much as you like. You'll get a 4 to 8 minute response and suggestions based on your submission. The down side is that there is anywhere from 1-2 week delay for response. However, you can watch everyone else's submissions and the instructor's responses. Along with that, you get a free music theory course and a free guitar course. It adds value. Since I already play guitar, I focused on the theory which is pretty extensive. There are other subscription options, too.