View RSS Feed

The Fifth Course

Greetings from the Edge of the San Joaquin River…

Rate this Entry
[Reprinted from the April 2010 issue of Stanislaus Connections]

The annual Tule Fog Fete is a fundraising event for Modesto, California’s Great Valley Museum. Held outdoors at Caswell Memorial State Park, the child-centered event includes live animal exhibits, docent-led walks through the park’s many riverside paths, snacks, silent auctions, and live music.

As a local amateur musician, I volunteer my services every year to the Great Valley Museum and the Tule Fog Fete. I play guitar and mandolin in the Zero Visibility String Band, a pickup band that was started specifically for the Tule Fog Fete dozens of years ago.

By 11:00 AM on March 7, the band assembled and began unpacking instruments. Keith Davis, Meg Eshom, and Jason Winfrey shared guitar duties; Linda McFelter swapped liberally back and forth between guitar and mandolin; Ken van de Kieft played a lot of octave mandolin and some guitar; yours truly played mandolin for the entire afternoon. But the most appreciated performer of the afternoon, measured in applause, was a young Miss Winfrey who pulled out her fiddle and, with help from her proud father, led us through a spirited rendition of “Old Joe Clark.”

We always play the fete without amplification. Set up and tear down remains simple and keeps us close to the action. Were we to employ microphones and a PA system, we would need to be farther away from our fellow volunteers and the animals they bring with them. And we would be removed from our audience, separated by a wall of sound.

Without amplification we can participate to a greater degree in the day’s activities, and draw our audience in. Once the audience is in, they listen and enjoy. The experience becomes neighborly and nearly participatory. Smiles get wider, toes tap, and voices drift out of the audience in harmony with our songs. Food for the souls of acoustic musicians.