View RSS Feed

Kevin Briggs

My Mandolins

Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average.
I read JEStanek's blog about his mandolins, so I thought it was a good idea and now I am blogging about the mandolins I've owned. Like Jaime, I've had a list of mandolins that have progressively led to higher quality instruments, and now I finally have one mandolin that I am very, very happy with.

I started playing the mandolin when I was about 23. I played guitar up until that that point, and was busy relishing my Martin HD28 when my good friend Eli Heferly played a bootleg of Doc Watson, David Grisman, and Jack Lawrence for me. It blew my mind.

I was previously infatuated with Bob Dylan's music, and I guess I still am, but I had never listened to much true roots music beyond some blues guys Dylan used to listen to, and people like Woody Guthrie. The Doc Watson bootleg was unbelievable to me. I couldn't believe the quality of the instrumentation, coupled with the incredible songs, and with the banter about "picking," " great old instruments," and about just being loose and loving music together. It was such a sharp contrast to the ultra serious Dylan, and it instantly made me realize that while I love Dylan's music, I really just love "music." In short, the day that I heard that bootleg I realized that I am a "music" fan.

The first thing I did was learn most of the songs on that bootleg, at least enough to strum and sing. I specifically learned the instrumental "10 Miles to Deep Gap," which I didn't really get into at the time. I know now it's because I thought I should be able to learn it in one sitting and be able to play it proficiently from there on out, which of course is almost impossible when learning your first fiddle tune/instrumental. I didn't have any concept of real practice.