View RSS Feed

Notes from the Field

Muscal Heroes

Rate this Entry
I play mandolin, and have played for many years. I am not great, never will be. Mind you, I am a fair hand at it, but the package of abilities I received at birth did not include prodigy. (It did include skills in other areas, in which I make my living, and for which I have a different kind of passion.)

But I do have a love for the mandolin. I enjoy playing mandolin more than I enjoy listening to any particular genre of music. And I play just about every day for myself, and once or more a week in jam sessions with others, every now and again at an open mike. The several times I have been in bands and performed I found that I enjoy playing with friends much more than playing for friends.

We musicians each individually own our music. Mike Marshall, Alison Stephens, Marty Stuart, Butch Baldassari, Chris Thile, Marilynn Mair, etc. while they are my musical heros, they don’t own all of mandolin music. They don’t own my music. Nobody owns my music but me. I have as much of a ripping good time playing whether I have listened to them or not. Nobody can take my joy in my playing away from me. My journey of musical discovery can be and is delightful to me, whether or not what I discover is common knowledge among the pros and prodigies. Sure, I still love to listen to my heros, but I love playing more.

I think where more than a few of us get caught up is in our aspiration to become like one of our heros. I had a healthy dose of that at one time. There are folks about whom I wonder if they would continue to play music and enjoy it if they were to know that for what ever reason they will never become a super star. When I discovered that I enjoyed making music, and making my own progress with it, much more than I enjoyed the work involved in an ambition to become a pro, I relaxed, put music in the context of my real life, not my ideal life, and enjoyed both music, and life, all the more.