• The Life and Work of Lloyd Allayre Loar, by Roger Siminoff

The Life and Work of Lloyd Allayre Loar, by Roger Siminoff

ATASCADERO, CALIF.The Life and Work of Lloyd Allayre Loar is the title of a forthcoming coffee table style book by Roger Siminoff with foreword by George Gruhn. The release date is anticipated mid-July.

About the book, Siminoff told us, "I've been collecting information on Lloyd Loar since the early 1970s and have tons of documents and photos. About two years ago my wife and I spoke about organizing the information chronologically to see how/if pieces fit together, to see if there was a story to be told, and to determine if there were any missing pieces. It was like a huge puzzle but as each piece fit together it displayed a detailed roadmap of Loar's life from his birth in Cropsey, Illinois in 1886 to his death in Chicago in 1943. Further, various documents I had, like Loar's Termination Agreement at Gibson, pinpointed some very important dates and issues.

"More importantly, it filled in a lot of holes about Lloyd's life, and it satisfied some of the myths like "when did Loar leave Gibson?" - "why did he leave?" - "what did he actually do at Gibson?" - "what did he do before and after Gibson," and more.

"As many are aware, I befriended Loar's widow Bertha in 1974 and supported her, and had Power of Attorney for her affairs in her later life until her death in 1998. While she knew little of Loar's work at Gibson, she was a wealth of information about Lloyd, his music, and more. And she gave me great insight into who Lloyd was. She also (fortunately) had a bunch of Lloyd's instruments (in storage), the story of which is revealed in the book.