• Epilogue: A Tribute to John Duffey

    Epilogue: A Tribute to John Duffey

    Washington, D.C. — Smithsonian Folkways Recordings has announced the release of Epilogue: A Tribute to John Duffey, by various artists.

    On Epilogue, the bluegrass music community comes together to create a marvelously fitting tribute to "the father of modern bluegrass." Sam Bush, John Cowan, Bela Fleck, Bruce Molsky, Tim O'Brien, Don Rigsby, and so many more — it's a rare and special all-star cast.

    Their eagerness and passion to record the album attest to how profoundly Duffey impacted them and countless other musicians today. 46 minutes, 44-page booklet with extensive notes and photos

    Duffey's contributions through The Country Gentlemen and The Seldom Scene helped transform the genre from a regional Appalachian music to a sophisticated, urban sound, resulting in a legion of new fans the world over. His influence on bluegrass cannot be overstated.

    Pre-orders will ship on or around June 22, 2018. All pre-orders will receive an immediate digital download of "Sunrise" by Sam Bush and Bela Fleck (if ordered from Folkways).

    The release will be available as CD or MP3 download.

    Track Listing

    • Sad and Lonesome Day - Randy Waller and Lou Reid
    • If That's the Way You Feel - Amanda Smith
    • If I Were a Carpenter - Jonathan Edwards
    • Lonesome River - Dudley Connell
    • Sunrise - Sam Bush and Bela Fleck
    • Going to the Races - James King
    • Some Old Day - John Cowan
    • Girl from the North Country
    • He Was a Friend of Mine - Dudley Connell and John Cowan
    • Poor Ellen Smith - Tim O'Brien
    • Reason For Being - Fred Travers
    • Ain't Gonna Work Tomorrow - Don Rigsby
    • Chim-Chim-Cher-Ee - Bruce Molsky
    • Cold Wind a Blowin' - Ronnie Bowman and Lou Reid
    • Christmas Time Back Home - John Duffey Tribute All-Stars
    • Bringing Mary Home - John Starling
    • First Tear - Akira Otsuka

    Additional Information

    Comments 1 Comment
    1. Mandolin Cafe's Avatar
      Mandolin Cafe -
      Interesting recording for those looking for some summer listening. It was published a year ago on this date.