• Bill Monroe Receives his Mandolin from Gibson - The Video

Scott Wright tape #7 - Bill Monroe receives his mandolin from Gibson, February 25, 1986
    On February 25, 1986 Bill Monroe traveled to the Gibson factory to reclaim his cherished mandolin more than three months after a vandal smashed it to pieces with a fireplace poker.

The story is well known and has been documented so many times it would be impossible to calculate.

Black and white photos were published by The Tennessean last year.

31 years later, it's time we see the video.

For this we can thank bluegrass fan and musician Scott Wright who was working for a Denver television station in 1986.

A career photojournalist by trade, while shooting video for an interview with Monroe in Denver, Wright learned the bluegrass founder was to be reunited with his mandolin the following week.

Wright asked for and was granted permission to make the trip to Nashville with three goals: to document the presentation of the mandolin at Gibson; to film an interview with Monroe at his farm; and film an interview with Charlie Derrington (now deceased) about the process of putting Monroe's mandolins back together.

In attendance with Scott to handle the interviewing was Dave Higgs, then a bluegrass DJ for Denver's KCFR public radio, now an attorney and well-known bluegrass personality with a popular bluegrass radio show in Nashville.

"I'm a life-long fan of Bill Monroe and really, really wanted the tapes for myself because at the time I knew this was historically important," Wright told us. He requested and was granted exclusive rights to the videos by his employer.