PDA

View Full Version : Best options for acoustic/electric around $1500

tjmicsak
Oct-01-2013, 8:03pm
Hi everyone,
Just decided after playing guitar for some 40 years I would try the mandolin.
I'm a working musician and want a good electric option that provides the best representation of the instrument, but at the same time want a mandolin that will hold it's own in an acoustic bluegrass ensemble.
Right now my sights are on the Eastman MD615 but if there are better alternatives to check out I am more than interested in them also.

I'm leaning towards the F style based on Bill Monroe and Marty Stewart, but if there are good reasons to check any A models with the features I'm looking for that's fine too.
I am much more interested in the sound and tones rather than shine and decorations.
Some recording is likely going to be involved, perhaps acoustically and electrically based on how good I can get away with not having to mic up.

I'm also not against getting the best acoustic model I can that would sound great and then add a suggested means of additional electronics too.

Looking forward to the journey down this dirt road.

stevedenver
Oct-01-2013, 8:07pm
I think the Rigel A plus deluxe might be a godsend.....
A with pick up, ergonomic, well made, decent acoustic sound
these are right in your budget, and I think a wonderful quality

great mando, easy to play, sounds like a mando, acoustically and plugged in
the reason to strongly consider an A over and F is bang for buck-much more instrument for your dollar

others, no doubt, will have their own biases.

Alex Orr
Oct-01-2013, 8:54pm
The good reason to check out A models is that (all things being equal) they sound the same and cost much less. The scroll and points are for looks - they have no real effect on the sound.

Tim2723
Oct-02-2013, 10:12pm
Hi and welcome!

I'm also not against getting the best acoustic model I can that would sound great and then add a suggested means of additional electronics too.