PDA

View Full Version : Austin F Style Mandolin

fullwedge
Oct-01-2013, 3:34pm
Hi. I'm new to mandolins and to this site. Have played guitar for 50 years and having a bit of trouble fitting these old fingers onto the fingerboard of an Austin mandolin I picked up for cheap in a used bookstore in Tucson. (Ever too late to try a new instrument?)
Anyway, does anyone know anything about Austin? Chinese manufacture... like Kentucky, Loar and the like? Maybe even the same factory?
Sounds pretty good to these inexperienced ears, but damn hard to finger those tiny frets!!
Any information welcome and appreciated.

multidon
Oct-01-2013, 8:43pm