PDA

View Full Version : "Hello", and asking advise about a beginner's mandolin.

MilliDee
Sep-18-2013, 10:26am
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum, and quite frankly, also to playing the mandolin.

I have been practising 3-finger style banjo for about 4 years and don't see I am making any progress at all. So I am considering to try the mandolin, seeing that that is more done with strumming, which may be more suitable.

I haven't sold my banjo yet, but I want to find out if someone can advise a particular kind or brand or model Mandolin that would be good for a beginner. I live in VT, and there are not many music stores that would have a big selection to try, if any at all.

Thank you ver much in advance.

Milli.

Capt. E
Sep-18-2013, 11:08am
Mandolins are played with a single pick, which will be easier than 3 fingers I suppose. Playing involves picking single strings, two strings (called double stops), and strumming of chords (up to 4 strings). I find the mandolin easier than guitar, and probably easier than banjo...give it a try.

As far as an instrument is concerned, there are many threads here on the topic. I would expect to spend somewhere between $300 and $500. Kentucky is perhaps the best brand for equivalent money. At the top of the price range I mention, the model KM-505 is a long time favorite. If you would like an oval hole instead of ff holes, the Kentucky KM-170 series (171, 172, 174) is a great value. Be aware that a mandolin will in general cost twice the price of an equivalent quality guitar.

Mike Arakelian
Sep-18-2013, 12:32pm
There was an Eastman 904 available in the classifieds for $350 that would make an outstanding starter mandolin. Eastman, Kentucky, and The Loar are all good choices for a first mandolin. Just be sure that it has been set up properly. Good luck on your mandolin journey...it's a great instrument.:mandosmiley:

SincereCorgi
Sep-18-2013, 12:39pm