PDA

View Full Version : Darn Ovation Mandolin Driving Me Crazy

MarkF786
Sep-16-2013, 8:09pm
I've been playing acoustic and electric guitar for over 20 years, and I keep a few guitars tuned in fifths; two in NST (CGDAE) and a tenor guitar tuned OM (GDAE). I've been working through some mandolin method books lately, but the stretch on the long scale is killing me, especially when playing FFcP so I've been thinking about playing the mandolin.

About twelve years ago, my wife bought me an Ovation Celebrity MCS 148 as a present. I had an Ovation acoustic, so she thought I'd like an Ovation mandolin. Great idea, but I've never gotten along with the darn thing. The intonation on the first one was so bad that the music store ordered another one for me. This one was better, but the action still seemed a little high, making the mandolin hard to play. I lowered the nut slots (I'm skilled at guitar setup & repair), but that didn't help much. I tried adjusting the truss rod since there seems to be a little too much relief, but the truss rod nut doesn't turn (I don't know if that's "by design"). I tried light strings on it, but since there's too much tension in the truss rod, the string action was too low to be playable.

Anyway, for the past twelve years this dang thing has spent 99% of it's life hanging on the wall or stored in the closet. Every time I think I'll give it another go, within a few days (or hours or minutes) I'm frustrated by it. I would have sold it a long time ago if it weren't a present from my wife. I tried it again tonight; uggh!

I think I need to go to the music store and try out some other mandolins just to make sure the Ovation is truly the problem, and it's just not me. Though my local stores probably don't carry Kentucy, Eastman, or Loar, maybe they have something else decent in stock to try.

Bob Clark
Sep-16-2013, 8:42pm
Hi Mark,