PDA

View Full Version : A new buzzing sound

OU1
Aug-31-2013, 11:28pm
Evening mandolin cafe....
I was picking on my mandolin tonight and discovered a very small but detectable buzzing sound on my top A string......any ideas for correction? Time for new strings? Thanks in advance for any replies...love to play, but I am not an expert on these kinds of problems...any words words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks....Scott

BTW.....college football in full swing today, so I have to say: GO SOONERS!

Jim
Sep-01-2013, 12:24am
Damp the strings below the bridge and above the nut to eliminate the tailpiece or tuners as source of buzz. If there is a pick guard hold it down & see if buzz persists. Fret the buzzing string to see if buzz is on all frets and /or where it stops ( which would indicate a high or loose fret) Raise bridge a little to see if that fixes buzz. If raising bridge fixes problem check for sinking top, though it might just be change in humidity.

Big Joe
Sep-01-2013, 6:55am
A good first place to apart is with a string change. If the strings are ol or defective they will cause a buzz and nothing will get rid of it until you do change strings. If they look worn or damaged that is especially the first place to start. Just asking the question indicates it is likely time for a change.

bmac
Sep-01-2013, 8:50am