PDA

View Full Version : Noob here, but I got some pics...

xSinner13x
Aug-29-2013, 7:54am
Noob here with a hopefully interesting piece/story.

after fifteen years of asking, my father finally gave me my grandmothers mandolin.
My grandparents married in '38 the Mando was new/used?
It was bought for her shortly after.
either way here are some stats:

all maple body and neck
Brazilian rosewood f/b and bridge beautiful grain
Brass?/Bronze frets?
MOP inlay
not sure but the nut might be ebony?
Bakelite knobs and PG.
all slotted screws.
this baby is 100% original it has not left the house in 40 years that I know of.
If any of these are not correct please let me know.

and now the eyecandy....
I had to use the phone so pardon the quality.

https://sphotos-b-lga.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/1016391_499468613475927_2087909251_n.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/1231578_499468523475936_115405728_n.jpg

I read somewhere there is a year stamp in these by the neck, but I'll be dipped if I can see it.

This is a rare treasure for me it is the only thing I own that belonged to her she passed when I was only 4 yrs old.

xSinner13x
Aug-29-2013, 7:58am
I see you folks looking, any clues as to what year range this actually is?

MikeEdgerton
Aug-29-2013, 8:00am
Probably from the 30's, perhaps the 40's. There's really no way to tie it down exactly if it doesn't have the stamp. Mine doesn't either. There is a Strad-O-Lin Social Group here on the cafe with a lot of pictures in it. Join that group and look through it and be sure to add your pcitures there as well.

MikeEdgerton
Aug-29-2013, 8:02am
It looks original right down to the faux flame on the back. It might not be maple by the way.

xSinner13x
Aug-29-2013, 8:10am
No? Spruce perhaps?
I am pretty sure the neck is.

All I know is as it "woke up" playing it this weekend up to the camp, She slowly got her voice back.
and She hollers when you put the pick to her, and nice and mellow with the fingers.