PDA

View Full Version : Ellis F5 Special - Oh Mama!

Tobin
Aug-23-2013, 9:35pm
Just picked up my new mandolin today from Fiddler's Green in Austin. This is my birthday present to myself, and an upgrade from the "starter" Pac-rim mandolin I've been playing for the last 4 years.

Full disclosure: I am not worthy of this instrument from a proficiency standpoint. But I'm not one of those people who think that you have to "earn" a top-quality mandolin. I'm not a professional musician, and I'm still learning. But I have had some functional issues with my starter mandolin, as well as having developed a hankering for something with serious tone. There were particular features I was looking for in a new mandolin, and the Ellis F5 Special had them all. So I set my sights on owning one.

Austin is a 2-1/2 hour drive from where I live, so I scheduled this trip (a vacation day from my very busy job) a month ago. As the day drew near, I called over to the shop and asked them if they still had the Ellis F5 on their website. Ben told me that they had just sold it! I was crushed. But he also told me that Tom Ellis was just finishing up another one and he would have it within a day or two. He called Tom just to make sure, and then called me back to confirm that he'd have it by today.

As I was looking it over and tinkering with it, someone else called the shop and was interested in buying it. So if it was one of you, sorry! I snatched it.