PDA

View Full Version : Need help picking out my new Mandolin

euph_22
Aug-21-2013, 11:28pm
I've been playing mandolin for a couple years, and am ready to upgrade from my Fender. I'm looking at spending around $400-600. I could go up a bit from, if necessary, though the less money I spend on the mandolin is more money I can spend on a 12-string guitar :). My biggest concern is that there is a dirth of mandolin shops in the area (Milwaukee, WI), and I'm leery of ordering an instrument sight unseen. Well, sound unheard.

The guitar shop I frequent has a KM-172, and I was wondering how that compares with the KM-505? Are there any other recommendations around that price range I should look into?

Also, a couple of the Used shops around me have a number of Michael Kelly instruments. Am I right is my assessment that they are by and large junk (lots of flash, no substance) or is it worth my time digging through piles of them to find the diamond in the rough?

Jim Ferguson
Aug-22-2013, 12:17am
Greetings "22"........welcome to the Cafe......there are lots of threads on the Cafe discussing this topic that will be very helpful to you..........going for a used mando can give you a better quality mando than what you might spend on a new mando. Here are some recommendations
A models: Kentucky KM 150/250/350/380, Eastman MS 304 or 305, The Loar LM220 (I had one of these & it was a great mando for the $$$), Gold Tone GM50
F models: Rover RM75, Morgan Monroe MMS2
Many others I'm sure. Hard to beat the Kentucky & Eastman mandos.
And.........make sure to get the new mando "set up" to get the best musical bang for your buck.
Good luck.
Peace,

allenhopkins
Aug-22-2013, 1:40am
Don't think Michael Kelly mandolins are necessarily "junk," though concur that they seem to emphasize cosmetics over better construction, in some cases. They have an all-solid-wood F-model in your price range. You might be better off with Kentucky, Eastman, or Loar, but if those brands aren't available…