PDA

View Full Version : Martin Backpacker mando woes...

Nester
Aug-13-2013, 11:23pm
I have been playing Mandolin since 2005. I have owned a Weber Yellowstone (I sold it but man do I miss it) and currently have a Kentucky 805. I recently purchased a Martin Backpacker mandolin. I have owned a Martin Backpacker guitar for awhile, and I love it. It sounds great for what it is, and travels on trips with me well. I bought the Backpacker mando on a whim. Is there any way to make it sound better? I don't expect it to sound as good as a full size mando, but my particular one sounds worse than other backpacker mando's i've heard. It seems real tingy sounding. Would a new tailpiece or bridge help? Perhaps move the bridge? I have searched all over the internet but have found nothing on the proper way to set one of these little critters up. Any help is appreciated. Thanks, and God bless!
John

Paul Busman
Aug-14-2013, 5:09am
I'm guessing that there's not a whole lot you can do. That tiny body and sound board can't be very resonant.

phiddlepicker
Aug-14-2013, 6:49am
I have two. I was going to med school overseas and the backbackers kept me sane. Unfortunately, one got a crack which seems stable, but I got another one to be sure I would have one to play.....replaced the tuners on both which helped immediately.

Other easy things that improved the sound was using good strings (elixirs) and a Blue chip pick...the CT 55 suddenly gave the strings a more woody sound with pop....no, not like a Master Model, but a very instant improvement. Have a few beers and it gets even better.

JEStanek
Aug-14-2013, 7:35am
Change the strings. Here's a thread (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?50836-Strings-for-a-Martin-Backpacker-mandolin)recommending lighter weight strings. The bridge on it should be positioned like any other mandolin bridge.

Jamie

Nester
Aug-14-2013, 12:49pm