PDA

View Full Version : Experienced guitar player - mandolin noob; lots of questions

dabizz
Aug-10-2013, 9:03pm
Hello everyone,

I have been playing guitar for approximately ten years and have been itching to dive into the mandolin for a while now. The mandolin driven song that has always captivated me and subsequently led me to want to own one for myself was none other than 'Losing My Religion' by R.E.M.; which, is, in my opinion an absolute masterpiece...a beautiful work of art. I have finally managed to come up with the resources necessary to purchase one, and have settled for a pawn shop buy for the time being. For some absurd reason, I figured due to my background with the guitar I would have no problem picking up the mandolin since they are so similar in structure. Nope, I was wrong...I'm already running into road blocks, but I know my determination will eventually pay off.

First of all, holy moly, the thing is incredibly hard to fret. I am managing to adjust to the extra amount of pressure that is required to play cleanly, but can tell that I have a long road ahead as me as far as becoming proficient at it is concerned. I have been reading here and on various other websites that it is best to get a new mandolin "set up". What all would that entail? My first observation of my mandolin is that the action appears to be to high causing an un-necessary amount of difficulty in the fretting department. This is in-spite of the fact that the bridge is lowered as far down as it will go. How can this be resolved given that the bridge is as far down as it can possibly be? I'll be taking the mandolin into a local music shop on Monday and have them take a look at it.

Another thing, How would you experienced mandolinists suggest playing this chord and what is it called: