PDA

View Full Version : It's ugly

Jack Roberts
Feb-11-2005, 12:12pm
I was first attracted to this mandolin by the cigarette burn on the sound hole. "Cool" I thought, but I was not in the market for an A-1, or any mandolin, really, I just wanted to hear the new mandos in the shop that came from NAMM. But for fun I started playing this one. What a sound! Volume, resonance, strength of character, and someone did a terrific job on setup, so it is easy to play. Not the prettiest mandolin in the shop, but the most amazing sound. So now I own it. Hey, I'm not a collector, I just like the sound.

Baron Collins-Hill
Feb-11-2005, 1:22pm
thats awesome and doesnt look bad neither

GnomeGrown
Feb-11-2005, 1:28pm
I sure wouldn't call that mando ugly.....It has just had many years of love, ya know "character" and all!

GBG
Feb-11-2005, 1:29pm
I have one just like it, only a 1916. For other than bluegrass it's hard to beat. Of course that statement turns off a big majority of mandolin players.

keithd
Feb-11-2005, 1:44pm
I have an A-2 as well (1919); it's a great mandolin, good tone all the way up the neck, etc. It looks like yours has newer fat frets; do you like them? I concur though, I wouldn't go too far trying to pretify it; just keep it in good repair and enjoy it!

Keith

s1m0n
Feb-11-2005, 1:56pm
The better an instrument sounds the day it leaves the shop, the more likely it is to look like that when it's 90 years old.

The commonest reason an instrument might get to that age unsratched must surely be because it played like a pig and no one felt like bothering for long.

Jack Roberts
Feb-11-2005, 2:30pm
Keithd: The flash on the camera caused a little detector "blooming" that makes those frets look like banjo frets, but they aren't. They seem to be somewhat newer (mandolin) frets. The setup that was done on it looks like a repositioning of the bridge (intonation is perfect), a cleanup and refret of the finger board, and slightly raising the nut.