PDA

View Full Version : Help with ID & Value

careylee
Jul-24-2013, 8:23pm
Hi all, Carey from Melbourne, Australia here! I'm a newbie, so be kind :)

My father in law needs me to sell his Fratelli Vinaccia Mandolin to cover some medical costs. And i hope you don't feel like i'm taking advantage of you guys, but i've done a bit of research, and this is hands down the best collective of knowedge when it comes to mandolins.
Its dated 1923 on the label and is in pretty damn good condition given its age. It was his fathers before his.

We both don't know to much about it, but if someone could give me a bit more info on it, and a rough value that would be awesome.

10474610474710474810474910475010475110475210475310 4754

Jim Garber
Jul-24-2013, 9:11pm
Welcome, Carey. Vinaccia's are among the more desirable of vintage Italian-made bowlback mandolins. This one is a midrange one and looks overall to be in very good condition. I am not sure but it is possible that at some point there was some over-finishing. There seems to be some indication of varnish overlapping the scratchplate. Usually mandolins of this period had very thin finish or sometimes no finish at all on the top.

I hesitate to give you a valuation since i really don't know the market down in Australia. You might contact Graham McDonald (http://www.mcdonaldstrings.com) who is a contributor to these forums and lives, I believe, near Canberra.

careylee
Jul-24-2013, 9:52pm
Welcome, Carey. Vinaccia's are among the more desirable of vintage Italian-made bowlback mandolins. This one is a midrange one and looks overall to be in very good condition. I am not sure but it is possible that at some point there was some over-finishing. There seems to be some indication of varnish overlapping the scratchplate. Usually mandolins of this period had very thin finish or sometimes no finish at all on the top.