PDA

View Full Version : F-9 Ebay find and new IPhone!

sgrexa
Jul-07-2013, 5:15pm
Well, this is my first time buying a mandolin off Ebay and it worked out well. Usually,
I am outbid at the last second by 1 dollar "bot" type bidder, but I won this one. A 2002 F-9 that is nicely broken in and "reliced" the old fashioned way. I think it sounds and plays nice and makes a fine mandolin. I am going to go out on a limb and say that based on my experience spruce tops that exhibit super tight grain like this typically sound "chirpy" or "reedy". How do you like those new adjectives? Hard to describe, but it is a nice dry, woody tone with a throaty chop, good volume and plays great right out of the case. I'm happy, and could certainly live with this mandolin as my main instrument.

I also moved into the iPhone club this weekend, so my son showed me the video capabilities of this new toy. Will post a video in a bit. Great weekend overall!

Sean104219104220104221

sgrexa
Jul-07-2013, 5:32pm
Plain Jane maple back:104222104223104224

sgrexa
Jul-07-2013, 5:36pm
Just a minor gripe, but with the buying power Gibson has, did they save a whole $5 by using plain vs figured maple and plastic instead of a bone nut? Nut width of 1 1/8" instead of 1 1/16" would have been nice too. Only a 1/16" I know, but I can feel the difference. Simple things like that cost little or no money, and it seems that they are getting the message with the newer F-9s although, I am not sure how much they cost? Those things aside, still a great mandolin.

Sean

sgrexa
Jul-07-2013, 5:54pm
And some iPhone video (testing purposes only!):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HP-9iOzNIOY

Sean

Bernie Daniel
Jul-07-2013, 6:29pm