PDA

View Full Version : Loar With Offset Tailpiece

9lbShellhamer
Jun-26-2013, 12:49pm
So I always keep an eye on the "What we're watching" ebay links here on the homepage of the cafe, and I often see these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/310693689486

The above link is for a Loar and the tailpiece always seems to be offset, and was replaced, therefore making it a factory blem which is being sold at deep discount.

I'm a newbie at best, and currently I play a Kentucky KM160 that sounds ok. I purchased it from a Mando cafe advertiser and it was set up well, etc.

My question is this: Does anyone have experience with these The Loar models which have had their tailpieces reset, and are being sold as seconds? Are you happy with it? Since the sellers on ebay are usually doing a full set up when they repair the tailpiece it seems like they should be good to go upon recieving...

Thoughts?

Thanks.

f5loar
Jun-26-2013, 4:39pm
I've not seen a real Loar this way but have seen a few of the imports of most any brand come in this way. I would think a pro set up would fix this minor problem.

vegas
Jun-29-2013, 12:29am
This eBay seller is selling the Loars that The Mandolin Store or Folkmusician send back because they didn't pass inspection. She promises an in store setup but sends you the mandolin exactly as it is sent to her from the factory. Every single one of her listings is worded the same way with the "offset tailpiece" story.

testore
Jun-29-2013, 7:08pm
Moving a tailpiece is only an easy fix if the neck isn't crooked. Maybe the tailpiece is in the right place but the neck set isn't! Throw it out. I wouldn't gamble on it.

eastoregonian
Jun-29-2013, 7:32pm