PDA

View Full Version : Kentucky KM 405

chuckh55
Jun-25-2013, 7:29pm
Found a used KM 405, A model, but can't find the model mentioned any where, I suppose that might be a sign of a bad thing. Would anyone here be able to tell me anything about them. I'm a beginner and saving for something better to start with and I know you pay for what you get. Would like to find out about them...
Thanks!
Chuck

chuckh55
Jun-26-2013, 2:19pm
Found a used KM 405, A model, but can't find the model mentioned any where, I suppose that might be a sign of a bad thing. Would anyone here be able to tell me anything about them. I'm a beginner and saving for something better to start with and I know you pay for what you get. Would like to find out about them...
Thanks!
Chuck

Guess I answered my own question. For those interested there is no model KM405. I spoke with Tom at Saga and he said they have never had a model 405 the seller said he saw it on a label he removed from inside the instrument. The price is now out of the realm of bargain anymore, but it was interesting to research it.

rgray
Jun-26-2013, 6:14pm
I was sitting back to see if anyone had ever heard of a 405 something I never have. With the label off the seller might be calling it anything to a novice who might get taken for a ride. Keep looking and something you like will turn up. Good luck.

Capt. E
Jun-28-2013, 9:24am
Do you think he mis-remembered the number? Could it be KM-505? If so, it is one of the best beginner's mandolins. If the top is solid I don't think you could go wrong spending up to $300 or so on it. (If you can see the grain continue on the edges of the ff holes it is a solid top). Even better would be to have someone who knows mandolins take a look at it.

Jim
Jun-29-2013, 4:38pm
the seller said he saw it on a label he removed from inside the instrument Why would anyone do that except to mislead?

Gerard Dick
Jun-29-2013, 5:16pm
Why would anyone do that except to mislead?

Exactly

bjewell