PDA

View Full Version : -Getting the Best sounding mandolin-

Poeticider
Jun-17-2013, 11:22pm
ok first forum post!

Hi all,
I am a mandolin newbie (have only been playing for 4 months or so) and have got a few questions about getting the "how to get the best sounding mandolin" so here goes-

1.Curious to know if anyone has any tricks of the trade on how to get the best sound out of your instrument?

2. How can you reduce resonance from strumming?
I really get alot, and I would love to eliminate this as much as possible.
(I currently have a Tenson folk Mandolin and am currently using d'addario bronze wound strings.)

3. Any recommendations on great sounding strings/mandolins for UK folk music?
I'd love a sound that feels so authentic that it was aged in a jug of scrumpy yet crisp like a fresh picked apple! And minimal resonance please!

(if you are wondering I'm not going to rush out and buy a new mando, but I will certainly consider doing so in the long term!)

4. Many thanks to anyone who has took the time to read this!

Dan the mando-newbie/Poeticider

Michael Weaver
Jun-17-2013, 11:32pm
Resonance....are you playing two finger chords? If the strings are too bright for you you can try flat wound strings also. Lower end mandolins tend to be a little high on the treble end. Not saying that is the case, but have you tried playing different types of mandolins with different types of strings and setups? It sounds like you may need to search around for the sound you desire if the string change doesn't cut it for you.

EdHanrahan
Jun-18-2013, 12:14am
Resonance? That needs a bit finer definition and/or analysis.

If you're saying that, for example, the G pair is louder than the other strings, it might be worthwhile to change out just that one pair for a lighter or maybe heavier gauge, and see what happens. I had exactly that happen on a '17 Gibson A-1, and lighter G's balanced it out nicely. Fortunately, strings are fairly cheap and you're gonna wear 'em out anyway.