PDA

View Full Version : Improve the Improv

Brad Weiss
Jan-31-2005, 8:02pm
Here's a bit of a musical biography, and a question about how to move forward. I've been playing for about 2 years now, and have found I have preference for jazz, standards mostly, swing and gypsy to boot. #I've gotten to the point where I can comp pretty well, love to play those "tense" progressions, and I can pick out a tune with some facility. #I've been working on improvising - and have learned a TON from this board, worked on Ted's exercise in Mel Bay, and worked on a bit of theory. #I also take lessons, somewhat irregularly. I've worked in two main ways - mostly working on arpeggios and playing chord tones over changes, and I try to learn keys when I follow a chord chart so I can play in a more linear way. #I'm really lucky in that I have regular jam with two good buddies of mine and it's a GREAT opportunity to try things out, and make things gel, a bit. #My goal -and my problem - is to improvise with much more lyrical phrasing, #I can (mostly) play the "right" notes, but my playing really lacks shape, or movement. #I can sort of "tweak" a melody a bit, but for me that gets repetitive- but it does keep the shape better. #I've also started transcribing some stuff (mostly Jethro and Stiernberg) which is a lot of fun #- I still haven't figured out how to make it my own, to apply it. #

So there you have it- any recommendations for how to pursue a discipline/practice that will help me develop mre lyrical phrasing are MUCH appreciated!

SternART
Jan-31-2005, 10:08pm
I've found that playing things in several different positions on the fingerboard, has introduced some interesting new possibilities to me.
Sometimes a closed position melody will present options that a first position melody might not, different relationships, fingerings, etc.
Then connecting melody in a few positions also opened up some ideas or relationships, and helped me in shifting, both up & down the neck.