PDA

View Full Version : f v A

willy jeff
Apr-19-2013, 1:54pm
I'm new to this, sorry if this has been hashed to death. If a good A5 sounds just as good as a good F5, why does every name-brand master of the art play an F5? I'm in the market for a jump in tone and sound from a couple of good instruments. I'm looking specifically at Ellis and Nugget mandolins, maybe Gilchrist. If I can get a Nugget A5 for 10k, and the F5's are running 20k plus, and there's no difference in tone and volume, why should I buy the F5? Why does anybody? Thanks

billhay4
Apr-19-2013, 1:56pm
"Anybody" buys them because anybody is driven by everybody.
A's sound just as good as F's.
Bill

JeffD
Apr-19-2013, 2:04pm
Because the scroll looks so cool. So darn cool.

No greater difference in volume or tone than there is between any two individual instruments.

To say the choice is purely aesthetic should not be interpreted as a slight against those that chose the scroll. Tone, volume, and playability are not the only things about a mandolin we love. Love isn't that disciplined or rational.

And I know I am in it for love.

It is objectively verifiable that I am not in it for money.

willy jeff
Apr-19-2013, 2:18pm
This is cool. thanks for the replies. I live in a remote area in Oregon and don't even know another mandolin player. Up until now I didn't know about MAS, or that I had it. Can it be cured? Actually, never mind. Thanks again.

greg_tsam
Apr-19-2013, 2:45pm
That F scroll strap hanger is just so darn pretty is the only real difference. I was amazed the first time I saw a F style mando without the top on and the wood blocks inside.

Jim Garber
Apr-19-2013, 2:55pm
It is the same thing as buying the car with the extra chrome or nicer-looking wheels or leather seats instead of the plainer model that is cheaper -- both will get you there (in a practical sense) but there are other emotional issues involved.