Mar-03-2013, 12:52pm
http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/images/attach/jpg.gif

JeffD
Mar-03-2013, 12:59pm
That'll work.

Welcome.

James5v
Mar-03-2013, 1:11pm
Thanks, I am very new to Mandolin but having fun with it.

ButchA
Mar-03-2013, 8:09pm
Beautiful! That's what I want to get one of these days. I want to pick up a nice F body mandolin and maybe trade in my old Ibanez A body mandolin (if it's worth anything...)

Glassweb
Mar-03-2013, 9:17pm
i knew it was coming, but it's crazy to think that people are now referring to the mandolin brand known as "The Loar" as Loar mandolins. i have no doubt there are players out there now who own "The Loar" that don't even know what a Lloyd Loar F5 is. the name "Loar" has gone from being a legend to a brand. kinda sad 'tis... :(

Mike Bunting
Mar-03-2013, 9:31pm
i knew it was coming, but it's crazy to think that people are now referring to the mandolin brand known as "The Loar" as Loar mandolins. i have no doubt there are players out there now who own "The Loar" that don't even know what a Lloyd Loar F5 is. the name "Loar" has gone from being a legend to a brand. kinda sad 'tis... :(

Thanks for that post. I've been biting my tongue.

Andrew B. Carlson
Mar-03-2013, 9:36pm
And the irony of the word Lore as well....

Bill Snyder
Mar-03-2013, 11:30pm
When I saw the thread title I figured it was a The Loar mandolin but I also considered the fact that it would conjure up thoughts of a Gibson mandolin signed by the venerable Mr. Loar. I also considered the fact that 10 years ago I had no idea who Lloyd Loar was. I suspect that many if not most of the people purchasing a The Loar mandolin still don't know who he was. The only reason I know anything about him now is because of the Mandolin Cafe.

dcoventry
Mar-03-2013, 11:46pm
The Loar and A Loar.

It confuses almost no one; maybe .1% of people. It annoys maybe 1% of people, and 99% couldn't care less.

Bill Snyder
Mar-03-2013, 11:52pm