PDA

View Full Version : New guy on board!

ButchA
Feb-17-2013, 5:11pm
Greetings... I have visited Mandolin Cafe before (looking at sheet music and tabs) and decided to log on to the forum.

I am by no means a pro mandolin player, but truly enjoy playing my used mid 80's A-body Ibanez mandolin. I am also a multi-instrumentalist (mostly rock guitar, bass, brass instruments, woodwinds, etc..etc..) but I find mandolin to also be a lot of fun to play and it adds a lot to an acoustic folk guitar or bluegrass style of music.

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q215/butchammon/100_1741_zps9406c9c0.jpg

I hope to learn a lot more as I read a lot of threads on here. One of these days, I want to pick up a nice F-body mandolin.

FLATROCK HILL
Feb-17-2013, 5:50pm
Hello ButchA,

I am not the official greeter...just filling in temporarily.

Welcome to the M/C forum!

Charles E.
Feb-17-2013, 5:56pm
Welcome to the Cafe, it's lots of fun.

Jim
Feb-17-2013, 6:32pm
Welcome to the cafe. I've got a bunch of paper like that in my case(s) too:)

ButchA
Feb-17-2013, 7:44pm
Thanks, guys... :)

Jim, besides the paper of mandolin chords, there's a bunch of tab printouts underneath it in the case. If I had to pick one mandolin tune that I always play (i.e. strum the rhythm, sing the vocals, and play the solo), it would be "Saint Anne's Reel". I can't quite play it correctly on my grandmother's old violin (an heirloom and very priceless to me!), but I can nail it on mandolin. Go figure...

TheArimathean
Feb-17-2013, 8:07pm
Thanks, guys... :)

Jim, besides the paper of mandolin chords, there's a bunch of tab printouts underneath it in the case. If I had to pick one mandolin tune that I always play (i.e. strum the rhythm, sing the vocals, and play the solo), it would be "Saint Anne's Reel". I can't quite play it correctly on my grandmother's old violin (an heirloom and very priceless to me!), but I can nail it on mandolin. Go figure...
It's da' frets I bet... ;)

fatt-dad
Feb-17-2013, 8:19pm