PDA

View Full Version : Ovation MM68AX so many questions!!

lifewithryan
Feb-07-2013, 1:02pm
Long-time lurker, first time poster!

I'm pretty new to the mandolin, almost two full years now playing it a couple times a week with one official lesson. I do play some bluegrass, but really I just play mando to provide that more treble sound in my band as well as get some of that "chuck/chop chord" sound.

I currently play a very cheap rogue: (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/folk-traditional-instruments/rogue-fm-80e-acoustic-electric-mandolin) but may have found myself in a situation where I could get one of the Ovation MM68ax mandolins. However, after reading the following thread:

http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?88590-Ovation-MM68AX&highlight=mm68ax

I am wondering if that'd be a mistake. This thread makes it sound like A) its not worth the money, and B) its a piece of crap.

I guess my question is, since I'm still a beginner (and considering price difference) is the Ovation of a more substantial quality than this cheaper rogue that I've been playing?

I can't find ANY reviews on the MM68AX, but the MCS148 from Ovation is getting great reviews on Amazon (and its the next model down -- even the Applause version is getting good reviews).

I'm having hard time separating out a more professional/experienced players review as it would compare to someone of my skillset. Naturally a more seasoned player will pick up on things that someone on my level would completely be okay with...(fret size?!? would I even notice??). Sure intonation and action are more noticeable, but I'm really lost here as to how much weight I should give to a seasoned player's review, naturally it means alot, but are the details too minute for someone like me to notice/care?

I don't want an A-Style, I REALLY like this non-traditional mandolin look, otherwise I'd consider an F-style. Also, it MUST be an acoustic electric...