PDA

View Full Version : Less than a beginner (a Tyro) - Advice Needed...

MandoTyro
Jan-11-2013, 7:45pm
I am so new to the mandolin (2 months). I have NO prior musical experience. I need some guidance in a few areas:

1) I live in Newburgh, NY (about 65 miles from NYC) and I am looking to find a store that would have a number of Mandolins to try. I own a Washburn M-1S/TS that is doing fine for now. But I want to hear different mandolins of various qualities. To truly understand the richness of the instrument. Can you recommend a store where I can be sure to find various mandolins to play to understand the differences? The Mandolin Brothers would be one, but Staten Island is a real pain to get to from the north. (I also may make a trip to Baltimore, MD and could take a day to look around there as well)

2) I have eclectic interests in music. I seem to only be able to handle a little of each kind at a time (blue grass, classical, Celtic, ...). So I am having trouble knowing where to focus. Folk/Rock seems to be the closest... any recommendations for Music to learn? Or even group/band to listen to?

3) My left hand seems to be really weak. I got a grip-master that seems to be helping a little, do you have an specific exercises that could help strengthen my thumb and exercises to help with finger flexibility and spreading?

4) I found a Blue Grass group in the area... but I am hopeful to find another group that may be willing to let a bozo like me just come and listen and learn. Anyone know of any?

Your wisdom and help would be most appreciated.

Randi Gormley
Jan-11-2013, 9:08pm