PDA

View Full Version : Best for Blues?

pete12string
Jan-09-2013, 4:12pm
Been playing guitar for about 40 years, but I'm new to the mandolin. I'd like to get a mandolin for the blues. I've been looking at some Kentucky A style mandolins in the $300 price range. Are "F" hole or Oval hole mandolins generally "better" for old time blues? Are there any other mandolins worth looking at in the $300 price range?

Thanks!
Pete

Jim Garber
Jan-09-2013, 4:17pm
You can play blues on anything, really. Figure out your budget and play some mandolins within that. I would imagine there are few rules for blues mandolin, unless you want to be Yank Rachell.

mandroid
Jan-09-2013, 5:49pm
maybe a Hamdolin.. its a Ham Can for the body.. or, a cigar-box Mandolin..

Bo Diddly blues master loved his custom Gretch with a rectangular box body,
to remind/ commemorate the back woods cotton fields roots of the blues
when people had to make their own instruments to make music with from what was available.

fatt-dad
Jan-09-2013, 6:22pm
I think you'd have a lot of fun with a flat-top mandolin. Look at Big Muddy, Mid-Missouri or the Flatiron "pancake," which has designations like 1N, 2N, 3N depending on trim level (there are other letter designations too). Any of these mandolins in the secondary market would be under $500 (well other than the higher trim lines of the Flatiron).

Find an old Gibson A model - likely to be just over 1K though.

Any mandolin will do to build your repetoir (sp). Then you can upgrade. So, if you find a nice solid-wood Kentucky in your budget, why not?

f-d

Jim Yates
Jan-09-2013, 8:33pm
Xx

Jim Yates
Jan-09-2013, 8:35pm
Take a look at some of these blues mandolin players.
You'll see a couple of Harmony Bat wings (Is that what they call 'em?), a couple of resos, some oval holes, some f holes, mostly As, but I see an F5 style and an F4 style. Whatever suits you will be fine, even a banjolin.

JeffD
Jan-09-2013, 8:43pm