PDA

View Full Version : New Player and strings...

mtm
Jan-03-2013, 3:52pm
I've been playing for about 4 months on a Savannah SA-115-E (I know, it's not a great instrument). The first one I got from a local dealer had a defect, so replaced, and clearly the replacement has different strings (I assume heavy duty ... dealer didn't mention the strings: not a great shop I've concluded). It sounds better, but my fingers really take a beating.

So, any recommendation for strings for a new player who does NOT have strong hands/fingers???

thanks... really enjoying the learning process (slow, but it's coming alone)

mark

Steve Ostrander
Jan-03-2013, 4:10pm
I would try D'Addario J73s (lights) for your fingers, although J74s (mediums) would probably sound better.

Stephen Cagle
Jan-03-2013, 4:43pm
mtm welcome to the wonderful world of mandolin. Don't worry so much on sound, tone at this point. In the early stages of learning I tell students that whats important now is making the learning process as easy as possible. Worry about whats important right now like how your fingers are feeling after practicing. J-62's and J-73's are lights in D'addario and in GHS A-250, A-260's are lights and A-240's are ultra lights. Good luck and enjoy.~o)

mtm
Jan-03-2013, 5:05pm
another question ... wouldn't one's fingers be expected to be "calloused" enough after 4 months to be able to play for a while? My fingers get deeply 'grooved' after 30-45 mins ....

is it the strings?

hedgehog
Jan-03-2013, 5:06pm