PDA

View Full Version : Paris Swing and The Loar 600

nrand
Dec-18-2012, 5:55am
My very first mandolin arrived today, a Paris Swing Oval hole model MS120. I have also ordered a The Loar LM600BK so I will be able to compare the differences between F hole's and others for myself.

The bad and the good:
The bad: the Paris Swing is basically un-played and reportedly recently set up, although to my guitarist instincts it is still not quite right. . It needs to be played a lot more to really know the sound.
Up the neck the G string starts to buzz past the 10th fret, and looking closely I think there is a slight bow on that side of the neck, so it needs to go to my luthier for a checkup
Fretting/playing is not all that easy, admittedly I am new to mandolins, but I played an Eastman 315 in a store near here and it seemed easier to fret than the Paris Swing. [The Eastman in Australia is more than $900.00 and the Paris Swing was $400 plus postage from Miami]
The fretboard seems a little on the flat side for my tastes.
The tuners seem a little average too, although the strings reportedly are new so they might need more time to settle in.

The good: I like the sound/tone a lot for singing with. It seems to have plenty of volume, and when played hard with percussive strumming it really rings.
I will be putting a K&K in one of the two. It would be easy with this one as I can see only one brace/sound bar that runs right down the middle from the bridge end of the oval hole.
The fit and finish is excellent.
What I really like abut the mandolin is the size! As a songwriter I cannot believe it took me this long to buy one of these instruments. I can stop the car when an idea hits, and I can pick it out while notating without having to leave the driver's seat! [try this with an acoustic guitar . . .]

I look forward to comparing this with the Loar. I read they both have some Greg Rich input in common, maybe even the same factory, so maybe it will be a fair comparison.

G7MOF