PDA

View Full Version : No Depression

Dave Caulkins
Jan-16-2005, 10:30pm
Its a bit surprising to me that no one, including me, ever seems to bring up the mostly underground alternative country movement. Maybe I haven't been looking very hard, but there is a definate use of mando (perhaps not of virtuoso proportions). The movement hasn't died, and country music really needs to find truth again...

It's actually the closest description to what my band does personally, and probably represents what I'm happiest doing regularly on mando or guitar. I really enjoy jazz, classical, and bluegrass but the players up here for those styles are less common. I'm lucky to have fairly open minded players who are willing to stretch boundaries...

So anyone listen to Son Volt, Uncle Tupelo, Whiskeytown, James McMurtry, etcetera and so forth?

Dave

jmkatcher
Jan-16-2005, 10:48pm
It's why I started playing mandolin and it's mostly what I play today. The first real song I learned to play was Son Volt's "Windfall".

mad dawg
Jan-16-2005, 10:49pm
Yes to Son Volt, Uncle Tupelo, Whiskeytown. Don't know about James McMurty. I also enjoy Wilco, the Jayhawks, pretty much any Jay Farrar project, mandolinist Jimmy Ryan , Blood Oranges (w/ Jimmy Ryan), Cheri Knight (again with Jimmy Ryan), Old 97's, and Emma Gibbs Band all come to mind as favorites in my CD collection.

What alt.country bands are you familiar with that have a mandolin as part of the main lineup? #(Please share, I haven't purchased any new CDs for a day or two. #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif )

jmkatcher
Jan-17-2005, 12:06am
How about Dave Alvin's "King of California"? A really great album. "Blue Wing", one of my favorite tracks, is very heavily mandolin based.

Professor PT
Jan-17-2005, 1:24am