PDA

View Full Version : Any thoughts on a custom tube amp designed for electric mandolin?

Wesley Owens
Dec-06-2012, 10:06am
My name is Wesley Owens. I own Owens Custom Guitars and have designed a great semi-hollow bodied electric mandolin. My day job is prototyping and producing custom tube guitar amplifiers. I have played the mandolin through just about every amp imagineable and I feel I have a solid grasp on how to properly voice an amp specifically for the mandolin, especially when it comes to getting the mid focus right on a distortion channel, where I find a lot of guitar amps sound boxy with it. The mandolin sits more comfortably in a higher mid range focus than the guitar, which makes sense logically. It also seems to work best using an amp with a big but tight low end and a singy but not harsh or fizzy upper range. Does anyone have any ideas on what they would like in a custom mandolin amp, or how they would change their guitar amp to be a better mandolin amp? It seems a couple 10 inch speakers with some low end girth would be optimal, and an amp in the 20 watt range. I think it would be fun to design, and there may even be a small market for it. Thoughts?

Jim Bevan
Dec-06-2012, 11:00am
I have a few amps that I use for electric mando, but my two favorites are:

1. A Jule Potter/Mercury Magnetics-modded Orange Tiny Terror, going through a Celestion Blue housed in a Bob Fusco-built small-as-possible cabinet.

2. A Dr Z Carmen Ghia head installed in a Bob Fusco-built small-as-possible combo cabinet, also housing a Celestion Blue.

I mostly use the Tiny Terror with the mando in the avatar for full-on rock, and the Dr Z with a Steve Ryder Tele-mando for a nice country twang.

If I ever get off the road and start cleaning out the basement, I'll probably sell most of my amps and just keep these two.
If I need more than the 15/18 watts, I'll run both amps together using a Lehle P-split.