PDA

View Full Version : What's your total lifetime outlay on picks?

lukmanohnz
Nov-25-2012, 11:57am
If you added it all up, how much do you estimate you've spent on picks over the years? I played guitar for nearly 40 years before I took up mandolin. I bet in all that time I spent much less than $100 on picks. I've played mandolin for less than two years now, and I know for a fact I've pushed well beyond the $100 mark just in that time. As a guitarist, I would have been aghast at paying more than $0.35 for a pick. As an aspiring mandolinist, I see a new pick that sells for less than $10 and think, "wow, that's a great deal!" I believe the mandolin was invented to convince musicians to spend irrational sums of money on small triangular bits of plastic. (And I now have more fun buying picks than I imagined was possible.)

Cheryl Watson
Nov-25-2012, 12:01pm
I don't even want to think of it... ;) Probably at least $400.

William Smith
Nov-25-2012, 12:14pm
I don't even want to think of it... ;) Probably at least $400.

I'm with ya "we shouldn't think of this",,,pry around 3-400 also,,,,for mandolin I'm set I found my pick of choice!

Mandobart
Nov-25-2012, 12:18pm
Definitely less than $200, counting since I took up guitar 30+ years back. Definitely the largest amount has been for mando picks. Definitely blaming mandolincafe for that.

mandroid
Nov-25-2012, 1:43pm
I'll try to begin keeping track, though I doubt it will make it into the Funerary ceremony ,
they tend to not use Statistics then.

Elliot Luber
Nov-25-2012, 2:58pm
I've spent about $100, but they used to be much cheaper.

MikeEdgerton
Nov-25-2012, 4:14pm
I know that in one afternoon at the Windgap Bluegrass Festival after I took up the mandolin I spent more in about 15 minutes on mandolin picks than I had in over 40 years of guitar playing.... probably several times more. Since then the number has climbed. Thanks for making me think about this. It's almost painful :)

Clockwork John
Nov-25-2012, 4:18pm