PDA

View Full Version : F hole vs Oval hole thickness graduations.

Roger Kunkel
Nov-17-2012, 8:51pm
I had a good experience building a Stewmac A-5 kit. The plan included with this kit depicts a f hole build with parallel tone bars or an oval hole build with X bracing, but suggests the same thickness graduations for both. I'm wondering if it is typical for a hybrid F4/F5 oval hole to use the same graduations. Thinking of building the oval hole version so I thought I'd see if folks have opinions on this. Thanks.

mandobassman
Nov-17-2012, 9:19pm
That's interesting. Based on what I've seen from Gibson F-hole and oval-hole models, I was always under the impression that the tops on oval hole models were thicker. Not being a builder, I have no evidence of this, it always just seemed this way. I'm curious to hear from the builders on this.

sunburst
Nov-17-2012, 9:51pm
Here (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?89383-Building-an-A-Style-Mandolin-F-hole-vs-Oval-Hole&highlight=oval+hole) is a recent thread.

Rob Grant
Nov-17-2012, 11:05pm
FWIW: This (below) is how I brace my F style ovals... I graduate to pretty much the same specs as a standard Loar style F5, but I strengthen the area between the top of the hole and the neckblock. I usually reinforce this area with a 2 ply reversed laminate (from the same timber as the top plate) applied to the inside of the top plate in the area specified by the "red X" ( below attachment 94366). I then "feather" the edges of the applied laminate with sand paper and blend it into the the top contours. I do the additional reinforcement because I use an F5 style fretboard extension that doesn't touch the top.

mandobassman
Nov-18-2012, 11:49am
Here (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?89383-Building-an-A-Style-Mandolin-F-hole-vs-Oval-Hole&highlight=oval+hole) is a recent thread.