PDA

View Full Version : Pickup FAQ??

CindyB
Oct-27-2012, 12:31pm
I'm looking for general information on choosing a pickup for my Eastman MD515. I'm looking for sound characteristics and reliability of the various pickups that are available. I use K&K pickups on my basses, but I'm not sure how much my bass experiences would translate over to mandolin. Preamp-wise, I'd probably go with an L.R. Baggs. I had issues with K&K bass preamps, but again, I've no idea if my previous experiences are valid in this context.

Roger Kunkel
Oct-28-2012, 11:37am
I have tried:

Schertler Dyn-M and found it too mid-range-y
Baggs Radius and found it too thumpy.
K&K Twin Spot and found the output too low.
K&K Mandolin Twin and found it just right.

Mandobart
Oct-28-2012, 2:03pm
Click on the "advanced search" text right up there above the V-Picks ad. Make sure you have nothing else planned for a few hours and search all posts in the equipment forum for "pickup".

mandroid
Oct-28-2012, 2:31pm
There are A lot of makers of Piezo-electric type pickups. most buy that type..

They need a Preamp with a high buffer impedance.

the other category of transducers, use a mechanism type which has a corresponding mechanism,
in the Microphone world, just the diaphragm is the soundboard
Vibrating rather than responding to air pressure variations.

Astro
Oct-28-2012, 2:32pm
I'm guessing you already read this but Ill link it for you just in case.

The JBB (which I learned about from mandobart' postings) works great on my Eastman MD 305.

Less than 30 bucks delivered for the dual transducer.

http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?89556-jjb-acoustic-pick-up

mandomedic
Oct-28-2012, 2:45pm