PDA

View Full Version : F4 Owners

Yonkle
Jan-11-2005, 11:28pm
Can you post some photos of close ups of the sound hole on your F4? Or full photos too. I am building a F4 and I need some ideas for the "Rosette" around the soundhole. Most of the photos here I can,t see the patterns or materials of the soundhole rosette, and I need some ideas for my new project. Thanks in advance. I will post photos of my new F4 as I get close to finishing, I am just getting started.I have never made a soundhole rosette, and there are no pre-made ones anywhere so I need ideas. If you have ideas on how to make one speak up, I need help here. JD

evanreilly
Jan-12-2005, 12:32am
Here is a good pic of the rosette on my 1924 Gibson F-4 (http://www.mandolinarchive.com/perl/show_image.pl?2791).
There are tons of pix of nice round-holes on the Archive site.

Hans
Jan-12-2005, 5:52am
Hi Yonkle,

While I don't imitate the rosette on an F-4, this conveys the idea nicely, and the materials are available. I take a piece of herringbone purfling and soak it in hot water. You have to be careful not to soak it too long or you will end up with a lot of little pieces. It can then be split with a razor blade. The logical direction is "toward the points" of the herringbone. Combine those pieces with some black celluloid, and ivoroid. I wrap it around a form made of plexiglass. A heat gun helps for the ivoroid center. Glue with your favorite brand of Duco. When it's fairly dry, carefully slice it off the form with a #11 X-acto.

Sorry about the fuzzy pix.

b.pat
Jan-12-2005, 10:03am
Yonkle,
Here is a picture of my Grady Jones. Not a great pic., maybe you can get the idea.
B.Pat

Yonkle
Jan-12-2005, 11:36am