PDA

View Full Version : Drew Emmitt's Mandolin Rig and other "Plugged in Players"

mattbeninghof
Oct-15-2012, 12:03pm
I had the pleasure of getting to see Drew Emmitt with Leftover Salmon in Boston last week. It had been a while for me getting to see any show, never mind a Leftover Salmon show! (*If you don't know who Drew Emmitt (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEWV8lZ1FUw) is or Leftover Salmon (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJOKN9q1gx8), click the links. Go ahead, you’re going to want to see this.) I have been a huge fan of these "New Grass" or "Jam Grass" players for a long time! A lot of my own mandolin rig is based off the basic idea that Drew (or Sam Bush) use on their own rigs.

(I run a '96 Gibson Flatiron Performer A Style or a '97 David Nicolas F5 with a Fishman M100 pickup -> a Rane AP13 Preamp -> Genz Benz Shenandoah Pro -> (*Sometimes into a few pedals if I do not have my electric mandolin rig setup) -> the house board.:disbelief:)

While I was a touring musician over the past 6 years I found I needed to have all of this gear to be certain that the sound for my gear had some consistency as we went from place to place. It was more than necessity, it was the ONLY way to make it work!