PDA

View Full Version : New Guy...

andyschwartz
Oct-06-2012, 7:57pm
Hey there!

I'm Andy, and I have been lurking here for a week or so now, thought I'd introduce myself.

I graduated from Roberto-Venn School of luthiery back in 1995, taught a few classes there, then sadly left instrument making for a different career altogether. Really sad...I know. It has been ages since I have built anything, but one of the instruments I have always kept at playing on and off is my crappy Epiphone MM30 Mandolin I received as a gift in 1993. I Know...I Know...Hardly a luthier's instrument, but it is something to keep me playing an instrument I love.

I am at a point where I have been playing regularly, and the Epiphone is hardly playable anymore with its Bowed Neck, Bottomed saddle, and of course impossibly high string action as a result. So I turned to the web to meet some players, learn new music, and learn about what's what in today's Mandolins, and look for an upgrade.

I am sure i'll be asking questions while I shop and learn, and I have already found so much incredible information sharing here. I look forward to the conversations.

Thanks,
Andy

P.s. Any other Grads of R-V out there?

Folkmusician.com
Oct-06-2012, 8:24pm
Welcome Andy,

Good to have you! If you haven't been in the instrument world for a while, one major change is the quality of the current generation of lower priced instruments. The quality is steadily improving. Any Kentucky, Eastman or The loar will make a nice player. They will also give you a chance to brush up on your setup skills. That is one area they haven't improved. :)

JEStanek
Oct-06-2012, 8:51pm
Welcome to the Cafe. There are also plenty of good kits you can choose from to more affordably build your own, since you have the skills. Look into a Siminoff kit. They are excellent and are ready for several levels of build experience.

Jamie

shortymack
Oct-06-2012, 9:12pm
Hi Andy.