PDA

View Full Version : Beginning the mandolin journey

Perseverance
Aug-26-2012, 8:58pm
Hi,

I'm new to mandolin, new to music and new to this forum (but I admit that I've been reading and learning from it for about six months). Although I had never played an instrument in my life, I got bit by the mandolin bug pretty hard in late 2011. As I am not exactly a spring chicken, the learning process has been slow but I am enjoying it and I'm keeping at it. My teenage daughter, who started playing cello and bass in elementary school, now tells me I sound slightly better than the fourth graders she helps out in the local elementary orchestra.

My very short, intense mandolin journey started with an ultra cheap import mandolin that I won in a raffle. Then I quickly decided to move up when I saw a good deal on a used Eastman 504. While I love the oval hole sound, I also wanted to try a classic f-hole and, based on what I had been reading here, kept my eyes open for a Stradolin. I had just ordered one from someone here on the Cafe when I visited a music store in Baker City, Oregon. There I found something special, an oval-hole built by a local luthier in 1972.

His name was Thomas Benjamin Haynes and he was apparently something of a local musical legend. His niece owns the music store and told me a little of the mandolin's history. When she was a child she went out with him as he cut down the trees that would later become this and many other instruments. The top is spruce and the back and sides are black walnut. This was one of his first instruments. He went on to build other mandolins and also guitars, but became best known for his violins. Some pictures of his shop and his work can be seen at a University of Oregon local history website -- http://boundless.uoregon.edu/cdm4/results.php?CISOOP1=exact&CISOFIELD1=CISOSEARCHALL&CISOROOT=/folklore&CISOBOX1=Haynes%2C+Thomas+B.%2C+1905-