PDA

View Full Version : Refret my Gibson A Model, Yea or Nay?

FlannelTuba
Aug-25-2012, 4:01pm
Hi Folks,

I have a Gibson A model, serial number 34750 which I've had for almost 40 years (I've had it since I was a boy of 8). The top 4 frets were so badly worn under the A and E strings that 20 or so years ago I popped them out and reversed them, which gave them a new lease on life, without really sacrificing the fretting under the lower two strings, as luck would have it. I took a big risk doing this myself, and frankly now I kick myself for even trying though luckily I didn't damage the instrument. Thinking about it now, I realize how close I could have come to causing a big mess. I was a foolish young lad...

Anyway, I am considering having it professionally refretted, but I have no experience with where to turn or whether this would be a good choice or not, seeing as it it 100% original stock Gibson at this point, as far as I can tell, anyway. Will refretting reduce its value? Are there special considerations for refretting a vintage instrument such as this—what questions I should ask if I take it somewhere? I am very nervous I might hand it to some hacker instrument repair man and have them destroy my precious Gibson A.

Also, can anyone give me an idea of the manufacture date of this mandolin? The S/N on the label reads, 34750 and there's a stamp on the wood inside that reads, 3455.

Thanks for your advice,

Scott

Annette Siegel
Aug-25-2012, 6:56pm
I would say yes on the refret and yes have a pro do it! I am of the a big fan of being able to play the older Gibbies. Though I'm not sure who to send you to in Oregon..perhaps others on the cafe might. It's a personal thing on what size frets you like under your fingers so be sure to discuss this with your Luthier too, they make fretwire that's close to the old stuff though.