PDA

View Full Version : Can heavy gauge strings be bad for your instrument?

jman72
Aug-22-2012, 11:46am
Hi everyone,

I've searched the forums for an answer to this, but can't find one (I'm sure it's been asked before) so I thought I'd ask anyway. I've got heavy gauge strings (0.012-0.040)on my Weber Special Edition F style. I absolutely LOVE the tone and volume of these strings and the SE, but I was curious if heavy gauge strings could be bad for a mandolin over time. Do the heavier gauge strings exert more stress on the top/neck? Is it better to use light/medium strings, or are heavy gauge strings just fine? Being new to an "expensive" mandolin (at least for me) I was just curious (and a bit paranoid about my new mando) what you all thought since I have no experience with this.

I know with my acoustic guitar (a Taylor) heavy gauge strings are not recommended due to the extra stress (Taylor recommends light to medium gauge) and I was wondering if this is the case with mandolins as well, or are they just built to use any string gauge safely.

Thanks for any insight!

John

Pete Summers
Aug-22-2012, 11:58am
Heavier strings do exert more tension on the top of the instrument, but certainly a Weber F style should be strong enough not to be over stressed by that. I wouldn't use heavy strings on a bowl back or the more lightly constructed A type Pac Rim instruments. Light strings for those models, and antiques, seems to be the conventional wisdom. But I should think any decent f style could handle a 0.40 G string. Not much of a mandolin, IMO, if it can't. :)

JEStanek
Aug-22-2012, 12:04pm
Ask Weber for their opinions on it. They are very responsive and won't stear you wrong. I would imagine it is fine but don't have any technical reason to say so.

Jamie

Pete Summers
Aug-22-2012, 12:06pm
Ask Weber for their opinions on it. They are very responsive and won't stear you wrong. I would imagine it is fine but don't have any technical reason to say so.

Jamie