PDA

View Full Version : An Introduction as a new member of the Cafe!

rockabilly69
Aug-07-2012, 3:21pm
Hi my name is Daniel Weldon and I just wanted to introduce myself. I am primarily a guitarist, but on every CD I've ever record (4), I always try to include a few mandolin pieces. No, there not Bluegrass tunes, and I can't play to that level anyway, but they are songs incorporate the mandolin as a featured instrument. I'm a professional musician doing more gigs than I can count, and like to change it up a bit, so I started introducing these mandolin oriented songs into my live shows. I've also taught a few side musicians how to play the mandolin specifically for my songs when I'm playing in duet or band formats.

Recently I just started playing some of my mandolin songs as solo pieces, so I thought I could use a higher quality American-made mandolin that was setup specifically for live work. That's when I started checking out the Cafe. I was interested in buying the best mandolin that I could find under $2000, and that would include an installed pickup. So I lurked here a while, and read as many posts as could, to learn as much as I could. Well, with your help, I bought a Breedlove American FF, with a factory installed LR Baggs Radius. I've had it for a few weeks now and already have about 10 gigs on. To say the least I'm very happy. So thank you. I also own a Bernard Allen 2 point oval sound hole mandolin (which I had no interest in modifying for live play as I would just like to keep it for recording), and a cheap Epiphone MM50 that I modified with an Weber Tailpiece, LR Baggs Radius, and a Cumberland ebony bridge (I learned about these mods here at the Cafe too). It was the Epiphone, after the mods, that got me into the mood for buying a quality mando. So thanks for that too. Unlike a lot of folks here, I am done buying mandolins as the Breedlove does exactly what I want it to do! Once again thanks for the help!!!