PDA

View Full Version : 1900's BowlBack and Mandriola?? Not sure. Please Help.

ChristusEstRex
Jul-28-2012, 12:04pm

Just purchased these off craigslist. The Bowlback is all glued up in the back and both have screw holes in the headstocks where the guy hung them on a wall. Would it hurt the value to get them restored? Thanks.

Jake Wildwood
Jul-28-2012, 12:06pm
20s/30s German mandriola is my guess, right on the money 1890s/1900s bowlback. Leaning towards 1890s. Looks like it might have the Wurlitzer headstock.

ChristusEstRex
Jul-28-2012, 3:20pm
Ok cool, thanks Jake. The bowlback has "PAT'D OCT 26-86" on the tailpiece. Also, the mandriola has brass tuners I polished up and sent its tailpiece to be replated since it was all pitted. Do you know if that would hurt the value? I don't want to restore something I shouldn't. Also, if I restring them what would be the best strings to use? I'm completely new to all this so any feedback is much appreciated.

Jake Wildwood
Jul-28-2012, 5:33pm
Bowlback: GHS A240s -- 32w to 9 set -- should be fine. The mandriola would probably be best with a set and a half of the same, too.

As far as resto goes: do whatever you like to make them into something you'll enjoy. They're both more valuable as players than as investments. The bowlback, even fixed up and going, would retail around $300. The mandriola -- maybe a bit more, but probably not much.

ChristusEstRex
Jul-28-2012, 8:59pm
Sweet, that's exactly what I wanted to hear. Thank you very much for the advice. I got them for $20 each so I'm glad I made a good investment.

brunello97
Jul-28-2012, 9:27pm
No disrespect to Mr. Jake or to your intentions, but if you get near 1/3 of that $300 price in trying to flip these you will be walking on water. (Which might still be good scratchola based on a double-sawbuck investment.) These kinds of MOR mandolins are like loaves and fishes relative to the meager demand for them.

Bon chance.

Mick

Tavy
Jul-29-2012, 3:40am